Tiffany cake and comparing fondant

For this cake, I tried a new kind of Fondant. The Wilton fondant that you can purchase at Micheal’s or other craft stores is terrible, and practically inedible. It tastes like chemicals, so I found a great recipe for Marshmallow fondant. It is also called MM Fondant. It was very easy to make and tasted great. I would recommend MM Fondant if you want to try using fondant for the first time. It is cheaper then the Wilton stuff , tastes tons better and is almost as easy to work with. MM Fondant does tear more easily.but still works well.
For my next cake, I went out on a limb and bought fondant from a company on Amazon. It is www.buyfondant.com. I was hoping it was better then the Wilton stuff and I was pleasantly surprised! It was delicious and I loved the texture and elasticity. I was able to roll it out more uniform and it lays flatter on the cake. I thought it tasted as good if not better then the MM Fondant. It also wasn’t as expensive as I assumed it would be…about $8-$10 for 2 lbs.
This Tiffany cake is made with MM Fondant. The Flag wedding cake is made with fondant from www.buyfondant.com

Leave a Reply

