A New Recipe…Chocolate Raspberry Genoise

In the past few days and weeks, though I have not been updating my blog, the wheels in my head have been spinning, turning, creating and imagining. I have been trying to figure out how to approach the cake world.

So far I have been concentrating on decorations and fondant work. I have experimented with frosting and a few cakes, but I have kept it pretty simple until now. My cakes have all been from scratch, but I was thinking I need to take it to the next level.

The problem with that is, what is the next level? So to answer that question, I went to the library and found cake books. Wow! Who new cakes could be so different. I did do a little research before going to the library and found that most professional cake decorators endorse author Rose Levy Beranbaum. She is the author of “The Cake Bible” and “Rose’s Heavenly Cakes”. She also has authored many other books I plan to purchase or borrow from the library:) But those will come in time.
I have spent the last few nights studying her books, the recipes and especially her tips on how to bake the perfect cake. I always loved chemistry in college, and I new baking was more science then art, but I am in awe of the information stored in these books. I have so much to learn, but I am up to the challenge…and the tasting:)
So on to the cake!

I decided to go with a new kind of cake, one I have never heard of or even knew how to pronounce, but yet I did it. It took me all day today and I had some great help from my son and my daughter. My husband even came in and kept me company while I worked. Finally after 6 hours my creation was complete.

I had made the Moist Chocolate Raspberry Genoise! That is pronounced GEN-WAH. It was intensely chocolaty, the entire cake contained 5 bars of Ghirardelli Chocolate, but also spongy (since it is a sponge cake). I was amazed at how fluffy it was. It almost had the texture of Angel Food Cake.

This cake is also different for me because instead of my regular method…make a cake, slap on the frosting and then decorate, I also had to make a Cocoa Syrup that was brushed on each layer along with an amazing Raspberry Sauce that I made to put in the Ganache Recipe.
I also learned more about liqueurs. Now I am not a drinker, in fact I don’t drink at all, but I love going into liquor stores, because I LOVE cool bottles! It just one of those things, they make me happy and the best place to find cool and interesting bottles is of course…liquor stores. This recipe called for Chambord Black Raspberry Liqueur and I was so excited when I saw the bottle, I just had to show you!

Chocolate and raspberries are an amazing combination. I think they were made for each other!

I wish I could share this cake with all of you! And Rose says it tastes better the second day. Yea for tomorrow!
Leave a Reply

